Subscribe or Login to watch video

Login or Subscribe to watch video

25 - Why is InDesign adding [Converted] and making me 'save as'.

Video: 25 of 77


Questions & Comments

No comments

ALL ACCESS: $12 per Month + Cancel anytime   

Video Transcription

All right, I just opened a file, it's an older file that I've been working on, and it's come up with this thing that says 'Converted'. Now I try and save it and it says I got to do a 'Save As'. It won't let me save it over the top of the thing I just opened. Why is that?

It's because InDesign is updated between when you created this file, and where it is now. It might be six months ago, it might even be two months ago. And there is nothing we can do about it, so we just have to live with it. We just go 'File', 'Save', and just give it the same name. It will say, "Would you like to replace?" and you say, maybe.

What you might do before you go and replace it over the top-- I'm pretty confident, I always do it, and I never had a problem. I do not want to get you into that problem. I'd like you to go off, make a copy of it somewhere, stick it somewhere hidden in case this all goes horribly wrong for you. At least you can go back to that original. For me, I always replace it with the same name and I don't have any problems. Just upgrading it to a newer version of InDesign. Maybe we just have to live with it.

And that is all, let's get on to the next video.

ALL ACCESS: $12 per Month + Cancel anytime